Can I review photos of me on Facebook that I’m not tagged in?

If you’ve turned on your face recognition setting, we can help identify if you’re in photos that have been added to Facebook but you haven’t been tagged in them. We’ll add those photos to the Photo Review section of your Activity Log for you to review. We may notify you about photos that you’re in the audience of, and only you will receive these notifications.
To review photos that you may be in but haven’t been tagged in:
  1. Click in the top right of Facebook.
  2. Select Settings & Privacy > Activity Log.
  3. Click Photo review in the top left of your Activity Log. From here you can:
    • Click Tag Yourself to tag yourself in the photo.
    • Click Ignore to leave yourself untagged.
    • Click Not Me to let us know if you're not in the photo.
    • Click and then click Report Photo to report the photo to Facebook.
When reviewing your photos in Photo Review, keep in mind:
  • We will only look for you in photos if you’ve turned on your face recognition setting and you’re in the audience of the photo. For example, if your friend shares a photo you’re in with their friends but doesn’t tag you, we may add that photo to your Photo Review if you’ve turned on your face recognition setting.
  • You aren't tagged in the photos in Photo Review, so they won't appear on your timeline. But the photos will still be visible in other places on Facebook, such as in News Feed or Search, to the audience they were shared with by the person who originally posted the photo.
  • If you tag yourself in the photo, your friends may also be able to see the photo. Learn more about who can see photos you're tagged in.
If you don’t have photos to review:
We’re always working to improve our technology, but there are some cases where we won’t suggest photos for you to review. These can include situations where:
  • We may be unable to determine that you might be in a photo, even if your face recognition setting is turned on. For example, if a photo is too blurry or if only a portion of your face is visible, our face recognition technology may not be able to recognize you.
  • Your face recognition setting is off.
  • There are no new photos of you to review.
Was this information helpful?