When I tag someone in a post or photo, who can see it?

When you tag someone, that photo or post may be shared with both the person tagged and their friends. This means that if you haven't already included their friends in the audience, their friends may now be able to see it.
For example, if you tag Jane in a photo shared with your friends, the audience expands to Friends (+) to now include your friends and Jane's.
To hide your photo or post from friends of the person tagged:
If you don't want your photo, post or other content to be visible to the friends of the person tagged, you can turn this setting off for each post before or after you post it. To turn off this setting:
  1. Click on the photo or post.
  2. Click .
  3. Click Edit audience in the right menu.
  4. Click Save changes.

Keep in mind:
The audience also expands to Friends (+) when others tag your post or photo. Learn how to approve or dismiss tags that friends add to your posts before they appear on Facebook.
Was this information helpful?